Hey Pocky A-Way

Well I’m going to New Orleans, got my suitcase in my hand. Chokimo! When I get to New Orleans, I’m going to see that Zulu Queen. Iko! Iko! Look at my queen all dressed in red–bet you five dollars she’ll shoot you dead! Hey, hey, hey pocky a-way!

Happy Mardi Gras!

Les Mardi Gras vient de tout partout, tout le tour du moyeu.
Vient une fois par an pour demander la charité
Une vieille patate, une patate et des gratons.
Voulez-vous recevoir cette bande de Mardi Gras?
Voulez-vous recevoir cette bande de grands soulards?
Capitaine, Capitaine, voyage ton flag.
Allons se mettre dessus le chemin.
Capitaine, Capitaine, voyage ton flag.
Allons aller chez l’autre voisin.

Happy Mardi Gras!

And in The Independent, Mary Tutweiler talks about black Mardi Gras in Lafayette…my recommendation for Tuesday.

Iko! Iko! Voyage ton flag!

Axé.

~ by Z on February 25, 2006.

2 Responses to “Hey Pocky A-Way”

  1. […] Video Biografía de José Carlos Mariátegui This is an interesting video biography, in Spanish, of the great Peruvian thinker José Carlos Mariátegui. And this site, remember, is mainly a backup for my old site on Blogger. My current site is Professor Zero on WordPress, where I also maintain my auxiliary research site. The post most recently added to this archive was Hey Pocky A-Way. […]

  2. […] It is Ash Wednesday and a new moon. On February 25th, 2006 we had not yet reached this point in the year’s round; my post for that day is archived here. […]

Comments are closed.

 
